University of East Anglia

Who are the University of East Anglia?

Founded in 1963, the University of East Anglia (UEA) is internationally renowned with a reputation for great teaching, a positive student experience, and research with real impact. It has four faculties: Arts and Humanities, Science, Social Sciences, Medicine and Health Sciences. These incorporate 20 Schools of Study and drive the UEA’s reputation for top-quality research and teaching.

The University has around 19,000 students, employing 4,300 staff, including 1,200 academic, 500 researchers and 2,600 support staff.

The Faculty of Science is one of the largest faculties. It encourages innovation and excellence in research-led teaching with a focus on collaboration. UEA is at the heart of Norwich Research Park, inspiring a lively research culture addressing today’s major scientific questions.

The most recent Research Excellence Framework (REF) exercise (2014), UEA’s research was ranked 10th in the UK for its output and 21st overall amongst all mainstream British institutions. REF confirmed that more than 82% of our research is world leading or internationally excellent.

The University hosts an International Literary Festival which has included famous names such as Ian McEwan and Kazuo Ishiguro (both alumni of UEA’s Creative Writing course).

It’s also part of the Aurora Network of European Universities, united in its commitment to build a different kind of inclusive university community.

The University is an Athena SWAN Silver Award institution with 14 Schools also holding awards, including all Schools in the Faculty of Science.

UEA are members of the Race Equality Charter and submit annually to the Stonewall Workplace Equality Index.

What projects / schemes / initiatives to support women’s recruitment, retention and progression in STEM are the University of Easy Anglia involved in?

The University has been engaged with the Athena SWAN Charter since 2012, by securing our first University Bronze Award.

We successfully achieved Silver in 2019, having renewed at Bronze in the interim period. The Charter provided a framework to initially support women’s careers in STEM subjects before broadening to all subjects in 2015, with the focus adjusting to reflect the under-represented group. This recognised that in some subjects men may be in the minority.

The Faculty of Science (SCI) has six Schools who are all successful award holders (4 Bronze, 2 Silver). More widely all University Schools are either working towards or have achieved Athena SWAN awards, with a total of fourteen being held by our Schools.

Since the involvement of the SCI faculty in the Athena SWAN Charter we have seen projects including a faculty-wide relaunch of appraisals and inductions and a review of all faculty student recruitment materials. This has resulted in a 50/50 gender split with our PGR student numbers and our overall student pipeline increasing to a 45f/55m split, which is +5% above the sector. Whilst this indicates progress in the right direction, we are not complacent and recognise there is more we can do.

The importance of becoming a member of WISE will provide us with increased visibility in our recruitment to broaden our applicant pool, as well as continuing both institution and faculty projects to raise awareness of the importance and benefit of having a diverse workforce with our values at its core.

Why did the University of East Anglia join WISE?

“We have outstanding women working in science and engineering across UEA. Women who develop life-changing medicine, carry out research that benefits our planet and create innovations that will help drive our economy. Our ambition is to nurture and encourage more women to do great things. Our membership of WISE reinforces our commitment to this.”
– Professor Fiona Lettice, Pro-Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation at UEA

« Back to WISE Members Page